Tempe Travels

Since it is summertime, I typically get to the Tempe campus shortly before 7 a.m.  Honestly, I am a morning person, but not this early.  I am up by 5:15a.m. most mornings right now and I require some sort of “pick me up” to ensure I am ready to work at 8 a.m.  Usually, I work out or read before my work day begins although recently, I’ve begun to go on walks around the campus to photograph my favorite buildings; this is much easier to accomplish now that the campus is fairly empty in the morning.

I must enjoy the quietness before it erodes with the arrival of the fall semester and doesn’t return again until the winter break arrives.

Earlier this week, I decided to step off campus to photograph some buildings that interested me.

The Twin Palms Hotel is under deconstruction right now; I am not sure if it will remain intact or if it will be demolished to make room for something else.  The IHOP upfront is also no longer in business.

The Twin Palms Hotel is under deconstruction right now; I am not sure if it will remain intact or if it will be demolished to make room for something else. The IHOP upfront is also no longer in business.

Whenever I see a Seventh Day Adventist Church, I think of Lane from "Gilmore Girls."

Whenever I see a Seventh Day Adventist Church, I think of Lane from “Gilmore Girls.”

And because I am a sucker for houses, I photographed those, too.

I love the clerestory windows.

I love the clerestory windows.

IMG_4168

I would love to go inside and see how nice it looks.  The outside is so impressive!

I would love to go inside and see how nice it looks. The outside is so impressive!

And let’s talk about location, location, location….the next house is for sale!

Home for sale!!! 1212 S. Mill Ave available for $359,999; it's located right across from the Gammage auditorium.

Home for sale!!! 1212 S. Mill Ave available for $359,999; it’s located right across from the Gammage auditorium.

And because I find the Tempe campus to be so beautiful, I photographed some of the sites there as well.  There is also some construction going on the Tempe campus, so I’ll have new things to photograph come the fall semester once the construction fencing is taken down and the final products are revealed!

IMG_4175 IMG_4182 IMG_4181 IMG_4180 IMG_4179 IMG_4178 IMG_4177 IMG_4176

Leave a Reply

