Happy Birthday Marines!!!

It doesn't rain in Iraq cartoon

NBC school drawing

Hand drawn map cartoon

238 years and we’re still kicking! Even though I won’t be celebrating at a Marine Corps ball tonight, I am happy I got to eat some (leftover) cake (we went to California Pizza Kitchen last night) and send out some ‘Happy Birthdays” via Facebook.

I decided to do things a little differently today as I am trying to repair a friendship that was broken a very long time ago, so I listened to my church’s live broadcast for a little inspiration. Today’s lesson was about heart and below was the scripture mentioned today:

“Let all bitterness, wrath, anger, clamor, and evil speaking be put away from you, with all malice.”-Ephesians 4:31

“Keep your heart with all diligence, for out of it spring the issues of life.” -Proverbs 4:23

It’s not very often that I let someone go in my life and later, desire them to be part of it again. I place an enormous value on all my relationships and each one has intrinsic value to the person I am today. I have to remind myself that the things that angered me years ago don’t have to create a bitterness in my heart. We all change every day and can find compromise to be a great tool to accomplish greater things.

Hopefully, the olive branch that I have extended out creates the woven thread I need to appropriately write this book I want to write about becoming a Marine. I think it can be a great reflection of the economic, political, and social times we live in but a story that is told at the most intimate level to honestly reflect the personal legacy of this journey and the people that are a part of it.

Leave a Reply

