I Have To Stop Falling in Love with Houses

The quaint little home we checked out.

The quaint little home we checked out.


Ugh! I swear my financial circumstances just need to turn around like RIGHT NOW! Every time we see some house that looks lovely, the dream of it gets swept away quickly by someone else who is in a better place to make an offer on it. I was letting myself get charmed again by something wonderful (this time it was a cute charmingly small cottage home in Agritopia) and that dream gets squashed as soon as I see the words “Contract-Backup” where the term “Active” should be when I check out my homes saved on my realtor’s website.

This home was the “treasure” I was taking Avery to see after she decided our walk through the Agritopia Community Garden was over.

And I know that someday we’ll be homeowners, but it really irritates me that the moment an appropriately sized (and modestly priced) home comes on the market, it’s as good as gone. I want us to be in the position that we can purchase a home for ourselves. I want a home much the same way other women want to expand their families with more children. A home to me is MY FUTURE SECOND CHILD.

Anyways, I know I sound ridiculous. There will be more homes, but it was kind of perfect that this one already had some floors, doors, ceiling fans, etc. missing. We wouldn’t have had to put in the extra labor to tear out things we’d didn’t want in there anyway (and had paid for)!

Minneola Lane

Living Room

Living Room

Powder room...look at that...it's missing a door.

Powder room…look at that…it’s missing a door.

Minneola Lane Front Yard

Minneola Lane Exterior

Dining space

Dining space

The side yard is small, but I walked into it and it actually isn't as small as it looks in the photo.

The side yard is small, but I walked into it and it actually isn’t as small as it looks in the photo.

Minneola Lane backyard 2

I love that the garage is at the back of the property.

I love that the garage is at the back of the property.


One of these days, I want to find a nice little house for under $200,000 in Agritopia. They are so hard to come by.

I know we were raving about the joys of the Fulton Homes, but at over $250,000, they really are dream homes and more space than we need. Agritopia has the kind of neighborhood that we want and smaller homes that we can live in without feeling like we’re paying extra to heat and cool spaces we don’t even use.

Some day we’ll be homeowners….some day. Just not anytime soon. 😦

Leave a Reply

