Options Closer to Home

Last week I had an interview with the University of Michigan but I know this option is not likely to work out for my family. We crunched the numbers and financially, it’s going to be a lot harder on us to make that opportunity work out because rent will be higher and daycare is over $1,000 a month compared to the roughly $760 we pay when Avery is in daycare here. It is a bummer because I was initially so excited to get a call back. I was so nervous during the interview knowing that the position is something I’d probably have to decline accepting. I have since looked a little more seriously at my options close to home. I found a position at Arizona State University that would allow me to transition to serving the veteran community. It pays drastically less than my previous job but without the financial burden of paying to move out of state, we could find a way to make it work for us.

There are some great benefits to staying locally (if we can) and even more, if I get employment with ASU. There are some great floor plans that would give us enough space to spread out and allow us to finally be back out on our own. ASU also offers gym memberships for only $100 a semester!!! Can’t beat that offer. We would also qualify for tuition reduction for Thomas and myself. Granted, it’s not a big deal for Thomas since his tuition is covered by the GI Bill, but I could start working on my Master’s hopefully next year or so. I am grateful that there are concrete benefits that are available to us outside of take home pay to help us provide a better quality life for our family.

ASU Floor Plan A

ASU Floor Plan B

The big downside with a smaller income is we’ll once again be holding off on purchasing a house. At least we have a real good sense of the area so once we can afford a home, we have a better idea on where we want to buy. I guess I’ll be living vicariously through everyone else’s homeowner experiences until we can make that dream a reality for us.

Leave a Reply

