New Adventures and Misadventures

Avery Street

I know it has been quite some time since I last posted, but there is a valid reason.  I got let go from my work July 19th and while I was immediately going to post about it, I decided against it.  I was very irritated at having lost my source of income, but not so disappointed about losing a job I wasn’t fond of or being away from a boss who wasn’t particularly pleasant to deal with all that often.

I had known for quite some time that she didn’t seem to like me.  It seemed like I was constantly being told to do things a certain way and yet, her reaction to my coworker was a complete 180.  However, through it all, I didn’t think I’d be let go from my job.  I would say I work fairly hard at being proficient at what I do.  It was even more disappointing to see (for months) that my coworker didn’t show up to work on time, spent a significant amount of time leaving work early for one reason or another, and who wasn’t shy about doing her bills at work. 

Anyways, now that I have aired my grievances, I am trying to move on.  I have the liberty of spending more time with my family (much to the dismay of my bank account). 
Thomas birthday

I am being more honest with myself about what I want and that’s to look into federal jobs.  I was disappointed last year to not be accepted by an agency and so this time around, I am setting more broad standards to improve my chances of being accepted. 

Instead of sticking to a few target agencies within the Phoenix area, I am looking at several States (Arizona, Massachusetts, Colorado, and Virginia, to name a few) and I have even applied to a job overseas in Japan.  I was pretty excited to see the Japan position since it offers a cost of living adjustment and a housing allowance on top of the base salary so it would offer us the best quality of life of any position I’ve applied to plus we’d get the joy of going to Japan after losing our Japan orders last year!

The position closes next week and hopefully, I hear some good news within the month!  Since it requires the most preparation of all the positions, we have already begun our passport application process and tomorrow we are tackling our storage unit.  We are separating out things to stay behind, things to go, items to donate, and certainly, items to trash (if any are remaining).  We know that it would be the most beneficial to bring the least amount of things with us, so tomorrow will be a long sweaty day in the storage unit going through all our possessions.
storage unit

I also wanted to let you know about a wonderful blog that I found.  It’s called Konichiwa, Iwakuni!  The author is a military wife who is chronicling her experiences in Iwakuni, where the job position I am applying for is located.  It is my hope (and you all can offer as many prayers and good wishes as you’d like!) that we could live fairly close to the base if I got the position.  I’d love to be able to walk to work again.  I used to like walking to work when I worked for 1st Marine Division and I am probably one of the few people I know my age who prefers walking to driving a car.

So, let’s hope we can have some good news soon that will lead to great adventures.

 

Leave a Reply

