Employed and Enjoying It!

Eastmark

Church Farms Community Plan

Church Farms Community Plan

I sincerely apologize for not keeping up with my writing, but on February 4th, I started my first post-college job!  I am not sure where things will go from here and I am not going to call it a career yet as it does have a six month probationary period that I must make it through, but it’s a great position for me right now.  The most exciting thing about this line of work is that it is the highest paying position of all 89 positions that I applied to from December 23, 2011 until I received my job offer shortly before my start date.

I do like what I do and over this past week, I’ve had the opportunity to meet other people who serve this small and similar roles in a number of different agencies.  The chance to meet everyone has certainly eased some of my fears I had about taking on this position.  I’ve realized if the grant for my position does go away, I have other avenues I can explore.  As well, I have the opportunity to build good relationships to help me guide the direction of this job and the role it fills within the community.

We are still trying to figure out how to set ourselves up for a home purchase and I know the pay of this position will help us greatly.  I don’t know if a lender will make us wait out two years since this is a new position or if because it’s similar to what I did in the Marine Corps, allow for some leeway in that area.  I’d still like to put in an offer in December, but I know it might be more realistically like March-May 2014.

As you all know, I am terribly impatient and the more I have to wait, the harder this process seems to be.  This part of Arizona is getting so busy as far as home building goes and I REALLY REALLY REALLY would love it is we could buy a new build home.  I know it’s not the most important thing but it would be so nice to have a new build home so we can be the first owners of a home and make it something incredible.  I am happy that we live somewhere we can have the potential of purchasing a new home instead of being resigned to what’s already available; it’s exciting to see that our part of the world is growing.

I think 2013 and 2014 are certainly an exciting time right now for home building opportunities.  Elliot Groves (Gilbert), Adora Trails (Gilbert), Bridges at Gilbert, Eastmark (Mesa), and Church Farms (in Queen Creek).  I really feel like a little kid at Christmas waiting for more information on each of these communities.  Elliot Groves, Eastmark, and Bridges at Gilbert are to be opening up in May, Adora Trails is in another phase of selling right now, and Church Farms is suppose to be opening something mid 2014. 

Eastmark definitely peaks my interest as it’s suppose to designed to blend commercial and residential spaces a bit differently, more like Phoenix; I feel it’s currently my first choice of new builds mostly for convenience reasons and it’s likely to be the option most in our price range.  Bridges at Gilbert is closer to where we’d like to live although Elliot Groves with its proximity to the Riparian Preserve and most of the shopping we are familiar with is interesting but I am fairly certain it’s going to be one of the most expensive options based on its location and floor plan sizes available.   I haven’t done any real research on Adora Trails although I have mentioned it in passing to my husband before; it’s location below E. Riggs Rd. didn’t appeal to my husband but the upside to the situation is that it’s a planned community so I’m sure that will add great neighborhood appeal and it falls under Chandler school district.  Church Farms sounds appealing, but I am not quite sure how I feel about it being Queen Creek school district only because they don’t have the same variety of academic and athletic offerings as the other local school districts.  Apparently, the development is suppose to have space for a neighborhood garden and horse corrals among other community incentives.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

